Last chance to enter Mayor Awards 2016

Melton Mayor Jeanne Douglas with John Wyatt who she succeded 'PHOTO: Tim Williams EMN-160121-121103001
Melton Mayor Jeanne Douglas with John Wyatt who she succeded 'PHOTO: Tim Williams EMN-160121-121103001
Have your say

Mayor of Melton Jeanne Douglas is still inviting worthy nominations for her Mayor’s Awards.

There are three categories to put people forward for.

The Award of Merit recognises those who make a voluntary and selfless contribution to the community.

The Melton Borough Award acknowledges those who contribute to the life of the borough which could be through their paid work.

The Young Citizen Award recognises the positive role young people play in the community.

The Mayor said: “I am pleased to present to you The Mayor’s Awards for 2016, thus continuing our tradition of celebrating those citizens amongst us who give selflessly of their time and energies towards supporting and helping others. Such effort should be rewarded, especially because this kind of service is invaluable to our community and quite often goes unnoticed.

“I am keen to ensure that we continue to recognise and acknowledge this through my awards. Considering current and general trends as regards cutting back on budgets and restricting resources, this activity is desirable than ever before. Our whole community is so grateful to these individuals.”

To nominate a person or organisation for any of the award categories you can complete an online nomination form by visiting, call the mayor’s office on (01664) 502314 or email for a form.

For more details on all the awards and to find out who has received awards in the past visit

The closing date for completed nomination forms to be be received is on Monday.

Last year’s winners were: Melton Mayor’s Award of Merit - Allison Green, Dinah Rudman, Leigh Pick and Jim Pryce; the Melton Borough Award - Jill Palmer and the Young Citizen’s Award - Sarah Lovegrove. There were also two extra awards presented. These were: the Robert Hyslop Citizen of the Year Award - Allison Green and the Derek Sanders Cup for the Outstanding Young Citizen Award - Sarah Lovegrove.