Sam and Matt target glory in Woodhall Spa shoot-out

The latest local sports news.
The latest local sports news.
Have your say

The final competition in the season-long series of Melton Mowbray Golf Club’s ‘Race to Woodhall Spa’ took place on Saturday to clinch the top 30 positions and players who will take part in the shoot-out on Sunday October 2.

This will decide the top five to play at Woodhall Spa for the trophy. They will join the order of merit winner, Sam Pollard, who automatically qualifies having won last year’s title.

The 2014 champion Matt Catton finished second and will be battling hard early next month to earn his place at Woodhall Spa again.

The Saturday medal competition at Melton was won by Tim Mortimer with a superb 4 under handicap net 66 and four shots clear of runner-up Gerry Stephens net 70.

Andy pedlar took third spot with net 71. Sam Pollard shot a gross 73 to win the best gross prize.

Alan Terzza, Mick Wilson and Tim Mortimer shared the twos sweep.

Melton’s men played their divisional championships, Three Trophies competition.

Gerard Leigh Bowl ( up to 12 handicap players) was won by Matt Catton, his net 67 5 shots better than runner-up Jake Mogg’s net 72. Jev Goddard was third net 73 and Catton’s gross 75 also won the best gross. The only twos were Jev Goddard and Mick Wilson.

Club captain Jack Inguanta won the Hayes Cup ( handicaps 13 to 20) with a net 71, his gross 85 also won him the Best Gross prize. Runner-up was Adrian Stokes net 73 and Ray Smith was third, one shot back on net 74.

Chris Vose shot the only two in the division.

The Wally Hill Cup ( handicaps 21 to 28) was won by Gary Kitchen with a 2 under net 68, nine clear of Steve Haines nett 77 in second place on count back from Colin Kitchen’ 77 for third place.

Gary also shot the divisional best gross of 92.

John O’Reilly scored the only two.

First place in September 14 midweek medal went to Kevin Robertson (net 67), one better than second-placed Guy Rayson’s net 68. Dave Thornton shot a net 69 for third spot.

Best gross was shared by Guy Rayson and Mick Wilson (both gross 77).

Guy also scored the only two of the day to bag the twos sweep.