Putter title is won by Leah

Leah Radford.
Leah Radford.
Have your say

Leah Radford has won the ladies’ President’s Putter competition at Melton Mowbray Golf Club.

The competition took place over the last two weeks, with the nett scores from two consecutive medal rounds added together to find the overall winner.

Leah scored nett 78 and 80 for a combined nett 158.

Runner-up Sue Hitchman shot 81 and 82 for a 163.

The winner of the first round competition was Leah (pictured) with her nett 80, whilst Margaret Samways won round two by four shots with nett 78.

Leah will receive a Putter from the Club President at the prize presentation evening later in the year.

The ladies’ handicap league team had their first win of the season in their match against against Kirby Muxloe with a winning margin of 2.5-0.5.

Played on home territory, the Melton pairs of Leah Radford and Karen Middleton won 2 up, Sue Hitchman and Chris Cook halved their match and Denise Waldron, with team captain Drina Terzza, won 3&1. 

Melton’s Mixed team played Rutland County GC in a friendly fixture on Sunday.

The result was a convincing 5-1 win for Melton.

Haydn Snow and Janet Bentley won 6&5, Tom Eadon and Liz Snow won 5&4, John Squires and Bettyne Norton won 5&4, Dennis Dayman and Sue Bennett won 2&1 and Dick Chapman and Alison Gatward won 1up.

Melton Golf Club’s C Team are having a good run of form and recorded a comprehensive 6-0 home win against Whetstone this week. 

Melton’s matchwiners were Brendan Boyce and Ken Longbottom 1up, Mark Lewis and Andy Pedlar 5&4, Adrian Green and Dave Moss 3&2, Garry Taylor and Roger Alexander 2&1, Bill Hurrell & Dave Bailey 5&4, Steve Tagg and Nigel Blunt 8&7.

This week’s men’s midweek bogey was won by in-form Sam Pollard on countback from Jevan Goddard after both shot +3.

Colin Kitchen’s +2 secured him third place.

Sam Pollard won the entire twos sweep as he was the only player to score a two.

A total of 24 players took part in the senior stableford last week, which was decided by count back with Adrian Green winning the day from Brian Wray, both shooting 37 points.

John Rigby took third place with 35 and David Bailey fourth on 34.

Dave Moss won the June 28 stableford with 35 points, one better than runner-up Steve Harris‘ 34 and two better than Don Benzie, in third place with 33.