Thorpe Arnold CC juniors celebrate season of success

Cricket stock image ENGPNL00120110324141719
Cricket stock image ENGPNL00120110324141719
Have your say

Thorpe Arnold Juniors celebrated the end of the under 11s season on Friday evening with the parent and children’s matches followed by the annual awards presentations.

Club captain Rich Randall presented certificates to all cricketers who had completed the season in the Kwik, Incrediball and Hardball squads, starting with the youngest, four-year-old Isaac Karas to the oldest, Charlotte Sims.

Thorpe enjoyed a successful season with the U11 Incrediball team reaching the district final where they were defeated by eventual county champions Queniborough, while the U11 hardball team finished runners-up in their league to Syston who lost narrowly in the county final to City Cricket Academy.

Junior co-ordinator Di McQuillan thanked the team managers Mark Tyler and Mark Carnell for their hard work with the squads, and Richard Burton for preparing the wickets and running the bar.

She also thanked the parents for their support of the club over the season and for their generous gifts.

Trophies (U10s) – Clubman: Tommy Hill. Most Improved: Callum Abrames. Player of the Year: Frederick Bailey.

(Incrediball squad) – Most Improved: Freddie Kirkpatrick. Player of the Year: Henry Ellis.

(Hardball squad) – Most Improved: Finley Warner. Player of the Year: Harry Leaman. Clubman: Ryan Stubbs.