Gaddesby Gallop attracts record entry

Gaddesby Gallop EMN-141223-154449002
Gaddesby Gallop EMN-141223-154449002
Have your say

Despite a punishing course and challenging conditions, a record entry lined up for the annual Gaddesby Gallop.

A total of 153 runners toed the starting line and tackled a five-and-a-quarter-mile circular cross country route from Gaddesby via Ashby Folville and Barsby.

Andy Peet (Wigston Phoenix) was first home in 34min 02secs after a tight battle with 2013 winner Ashley Miles who crossed the line in second position, just 10 seconds back. Geoff Beetham completed the men’s podium after clocking 34.45.

Sally Newman (Calder Valley) was the clear winner in the ladies’ race, finishing just two seconds over the 40-minute barrier.

Emily Hollis. of the Syston-based Wreake Runners, was second in 43.03, edging out Sarah Thorp (West End Runners) who finished in the same time.

The local winners were Martin Troop who crossed the line in 42.01, and Jo Waack (56.40).

Lance Shaw, who organised this year’s Gallop with Sam Burdett, said: “We would like to thank all of the runners that entered and all of the volunteers who gave up their time to help us stage the event.”