Multiple winner Jake named club’s top junior

Melton Golf Club junior trophy winners EMN-150812-162920002
Melton Golf Club junior trophy winners EMN-150812-162920002
Have your say

Melton Mowbray Golf Club held its annual prize presentation evening where its top young performers were rewarded.

Awards were presented by the 2015 club captain Brendan Boyce and lady captain Karen Middleton.

The junior section has enjoyed an excellent year and the club’s golf operations director Pat Lee announced that three of the four most improved golfers in the club, in terms of handicap reductions, were juniors.

Josh Blunt came down from 28 to 20, and Jack Griffin from 16 to 11, while Jake Mogg, who represented Leicestershire under 17s, saw his handicap reduced from 8.5 to 4.8.

Jake, who won the Keightley Kerr Putter and the Ray Elsome Matchplay Knockout Trophy, was named Junior Clubman of the Year and presented with the Alan Munton Memorial Trophy by Brenda and Tim Munton.

The trophy was donated to the junior section in memory of Alan, a former club member.

Pat finished by thanking Pam and Mick Parker for their hard work in running the junior section.

Junior trophy winners – Bill Lodge Spring Trophy: Josh Blunt. Ben Kerr Memorial Trophy and the Club Captain’s Trophy (order of merit below 20 handicap): James Daulby. The Knockout Shield and the Lady Captain’s Trophy (order of merit above 20 handicap): James Cartwright. Junior Captain’s Cup and Sam Weller Shield: Will Fairbrother. Rabbits Cup: Jack Standeven. The Jubilee Cup: Jack Griffin. The Doubles Cup: Ed and Will Thompson.

* The men’s section played an am-am on Saturday, undeterred by the high winds.

Battling against galeforce gusts, they fought their way around the course with some reasonable scores returned, but no two’s.

The winning team of Billy Kevan, Phil Millward, Tom Eadon and Vic Cooper scored 71 points, closely followed by runners-up Mark Muggleton, Doug Woolley, Matthew Thomson and Rob Smith (69pts).

Mick Pollard, Nick Baines, Tim Mortimer and Mick Ward finished in third spot with 65 points.

* The ladies’ section came out in force for their Wednesday nine-hole competition.

Ladies’ vice-captain Liz Snow won the individual stableford with a level handicap 18 points and Denise Waldron was runner-up, two points behind.

* The third round of the Autumn Trophy series took place on Sunday played as a progressive Waltz.

The team of Bob Barnes, Neil Farish, David McKain and Trevor Jamson were clear winners with 109 points, a full 12 points clear of runners-up Billy Kevan, Karl Yates, Keith Loring and Ricci Curtis.

Steve Goddard, Mark Lewis, Giles Hinch and Andy Wade completed the top three with 96 points, and nearest the pin prize went to Andy Westwood.

Karl Yates leads the overall trophy standings with 26 points, two ahead of Jev Goddard.