Stoke Rochford Golf Club: Watson crowned ladies’ champion

Golf sessions are taking place in Corby this summer
Golf sessions are taking place in Corby this summer
Have your say

The Stoke Rochford GC Ladies’ Club Championship was played over two medal rounds on Sunday in glorious weather.

Pam Watson was crowned Stoke Rochford’s champion with gross scores of 81 and 76, totalling 157. Runner-up Sue Booth scored 85 and 86 for a total of 171.

Dorne Werner claimed the best nett prize with 142 after rounds of 69 and 73, while runner-up Sheila Dugmore shot 75 and 70 for 145.

* Stoke Rochford Golf Club held their Lady Captain’s Day where golfers had two chances to win.

The morning’s stableford competition was won by Lyn Ewart with 43 points, one clear of Karen Rawson, while Sheila Dugmore took third spot with 39pts.

Phillippa Smith won nearest-the-pin, and Marion Carvath claimed the nearest-the-pin-in-two prize.

The afternoon mixed 16-hole betterball competition went to the team of Ben Rawson and Pauline Haggerty.

Norma and Phil Varley were second with Adam Footitt and Joan Lennard in third place. Adam Footitt received the nearest-the-pin prize with Jeff Purdy nearest-the-pin-in-three on the par five 16th hole.

The raffle and donations raised £855.50 for the lady captain’s chosen charity, Combat Stress.

* Giving shots in every game on an away course proved too big a test for Stoke Seniors at Scraptoft.


Scores: Mike Nixon/Don Clements lost 3 and 1; Graham Manton/Alan Jessop halved; Brian White/Phil White won 1-up; Brian Ayto/Ray Elsome lost 2 and 1; Tim Haward/Roy Rowe lost 6 and 5; Mike Graves/John Batty lost 5 and 4; Stephen Major/Ray Beal lost 3 and 2; Barry Coop/Charles Scott won 3 and 2.

* Phil Hewes won round five of the Seniors Trophy with 40 points, two clear of Barry Mitchell and Ernie Armstrong.

With one round left, the current overall leader is Don Clements with 111 points from Richard Leverett and Ernie Armstrong (110).

* Results – Sunday Medal: 1 Marion Carvath nett 70, 2 Jean Hough, 3 Jo Mulvey. Gross prize: Sue Booth (77).

Ladies Alternative Trophy: 1 Avis Griffin 37pts, 2 Roni Proctor 35pts.