Melton turn tables in annual match

The latest local sports news.
The latest local sports news.
Share this article
Have your say

Melton Mowbray Town triumphed in the annual Kirton Cup with a comprehensive 157-137 victory over Kirton on Saturday.

Melton lost the first leg of the contest away from home by a score of 85-57.

But they turned it all around with a dominant display in the home leg.

Melton claimed the silver trophy with a 100-52 success to overturn their 28-point deficit from the opener.

Scores (Melton players named): Alan Dawson, Mike Pratt, Barbara Woodcock and Harold Twigg lost 22-14; Kevin Hutchins, Mick Parker, Fred Thorpe and Jenny McConnell won 33-14; Sid Greenstreet, Andrew North, Les Woodcock and Kevan Murray won 25-10; Bob Johnson, Eric Morgan, Vince Darling and David Poate won 28-6.

l Melton Mowbray Town beat Fosseway by 80-53 in a home game.

Results (Melton skip names): Jenny McConnell won 23-11; Les Woodcock won 17-14; Kevan Murray won 18-15; Harold Twigg won 22-13.

l Loughborough Phoenix beat Melton Town 86-66.

Results (Melton skip names): Paul McConnell won; Arthur Broadberry lost; Les Woodcock and Harold Twigg both drew.