Melton Olympic: Haines secures time trial crown

The latest local sports news.
The latest local sports news.
Have your say

In-form Jamie Haines clinched Melton Olympic Cycling Club’s time trial league title with his latest midweek victory last Wednesday.

The Wymondham circuit hosted the last of the season’s Individual Evening Time Trial League meets and once again champion tester Haines came home first with a time of 21min 44secs.

Runner-up Jeff Snodin was more than a minute back in 22.47.

Times: 1 Jamie Haines 21.44, 2 Jeff Snodin 22.47, 3 Adam Brown 25.32, 4 Gary Ison 26.10, 5 Dean Chapman 26.49, 6 Bryan Fenwick 26.53, 7 Kerrigan Robb 28.36, 8 Wayne Hazeldine 28.44, 9 Bill Vetcher 28.53, 10 Tony Palmer 31.18 (Nottingham Clarion CC).

* Five Melton Olympic riders took part in the Ratae RC Open 10 Time Trial on the A46 Seagrave course.

Jamie Haines was quickest Melton rider and sixth overall in a time of 21min 07 secs, less than two minutes behind winner Matt Bottrill ( in 19.23.

Other Melton times: Russell Gent 24.15, Gary Ison 24.36, Bryan Fenwick 25.19, Deborah Shaw 27.44.

* Haines was once again in form on the A46 course with fifth spot at the Leicester Forest CC Open 10 mile TT last Saturday.

He stopped the clock in 21.06 with winner Brett Harwood (Terry Wright Cycles RC) posting 19.57.

Other Melton times: Adam Brown 23.48, Russell Gent 24.11, Gary Ison 24.58, Debbie Shaw 28.16.

* This Sunday’s club run is the autumn hard riders trial over a rather lumpy 60-mile course being led by Jeff Snodin. Meet at Mill Street car park at 9am.