Melton Olympic Cycling Club: Haines clocks landmark time at Sherwood Pines

Have your say

Three Melton riders competed in the Sherwood Pines Open 10 TT on Saturday.

Jamie Haines came home in 10th position in a time of 20min 33secs, the second fastest time ever recorded by a Melton Olympic member.

Only Jeff Snodin in his British squad days has ridden faster.

The event was won by Lee Tunnicliffe (Clay Cross RT) in 19.34. The other Melton riders were Russell Gent (23.14) and Bryan Fenwick (25.03).

* The latest round of Melton Olympic Cycling Club’s evening time trial league take place on the Plungar circuit last Wednesday.

After last week’s positively tropical conditions, a field of 13 riders turned out in more forgiving temperatures.

With Jamie Haines having to carry out marshalling duties it was left to Stu Faver to show he still has fuel in the tank to come home fastest in a time of 23min 20secs from runner-up Maceij Rakowski, of Witham Wheelers, in 24.41 with Melton’s Adam Brown (25.07) in third.

Times: 1 Stuart Faver 23.20, 2 Maciej Rakowski (Witham Wheelers) 24.41, 3 Adam Brown 25.07, 4 Andy Fitch (Sherwood CC) 25.19, 5 John Atkin 27.08, 6 Paul Ward (Sherwood CC) 27.28, 7 Dean Chapman 27.47, 8 Bill Vetcher 28.34, 9 Neil Booton 28.55, 10 Steve Knox 29.17, 11 Kerrigan Robb 29.52, 12 Mark Saunders (Nottingham Clarion CC) 29.59, 13 Andrew Keightley 30.07.

* The next Sunday club run leaves Mill Street car par at 9am with a halfway point of Newark.

* The next round of the evening TT league takes place on the 13.4-mile Harby circuit with the lung-busting ascent of Harby Hill coming in the last mile.