Melton Golf Club: President’s Day winner Drina captures prize double

Denise Waldron hosted Lady President's Day at Melton Golf Club EMN-160531-154253002
Denise Waldron hosted Lady President's Day at Melton Golf Club EMN-160531-154253002
Have your say

Denise Waldron hosted her Lady President’s Day for the ladies’ section at Melton Mowbray Golf Club last week.

Despite the damp weather, they enjoyed an 18-hole medal competition followed by a buffet lunch.

The overall winner of the Lady President’s Salver was Drina Terzza with a nett score of 77. Drina also won the prize for the least putts taken with an excellent score of 22, while the Hidden Holes prize went to Chris Cook with a score of 21.

Division winners – Division One: 1 Nancy Denny nett 78, 2 Julia Brown nett 81. Division Two: 1 Chris Cook nett 81, 2 Karen Middleton nett 83. Division Three: 1 Sue Bennett nett 80, 2 Bettyne Norton nett 83.

* The ladies’ Ludlow Bowl was won by Kathie Finn with 32 points, on countback from runner-up Liz Snow, and Nancy Denny was third with 30 points.

* The men’s midweek stableford last Thursday was won by Scott Cartwright with 35 points.

George Boddy took second place on countback on the back nine from Simon Alcott, both having scored 34 points. Mick Wilson and Guy Rayson shared the twos sweep.

* Matt Thomson won the men’s Marsh Cup with a +5 score in the bogey competition.

Chris Boulter returned with a +4 to secure second spot from third-placed Phil Curtis (+3).

Two’s sweep: Bob Barnes, Tom Eadon, Steve Wright, Glenn Price, Haydn Snow, Matt Thomson, Bev Blake, Dave Thornton, Mick Cavani.

* The Compton Cup, played over five rounds of the major club trophies by 21 to 28 handicap men, was also played on Saturday.

The winner was Cliff Daulby on +1 ahead of Steve Haines who bagged second spot on countback from Scott Cartwright, both having finished level with the course.

* The Melton seniors team bounced back from their first defeat of the season, 3.5-2.5, at Humberstone Heights last week with a tremendous win over Rutland County.

They ran out winners by seven games to one to cap a great team effort. Tom Eadon won the nearest-the-pin competition on the 14th green.