Melton Olympic cycling: Haines maintains top TT form

Have your say

Melton Olympic Cycling Club riders were back in action in the Evening 10 TT League last Wednesday after the previous week’s lay-off.

A total of 15 riders turned out on the Wymondham course with Melton’s Jamie Haines taking first place in 21min 52secs from Stu Faver (23.31).

Times: 1 Jamie Haines 21.52, 2 Stuart Faver 23.31, 3 Steve Savage 23.44, 4 Maciej Rakowski (Witham Wheelers) 25.16, 5 Gary Ison 26.15, 6 Adam Gardner 26.37, 7 Dean Chapman 27.50, 8 Wayne Hazeldine 28.26, 9 Neil Booton 28.58, 10 Andrew Keightley 29.12, 11 Bill Vetcher 29.54, 12 Matt sharp 30.23, 13 Steve Knox 31.24, 14 Tony Palmer (Notts Clarion) 31.55.

* On Saturday, the club held an open 10 TT on the A46 with a last-minute course change due to steam engines on part of the circuit.

Riders started at the Durham Ox and headed up to the Widmerpool roundabout before heading back down the opposite carriageway.

A good field of 63 braved a stiff crosswind with one of the fastest testers in the country, Matt Sinclair (Lutterworth Cycle Centre), taking top spot with an impressive time of 19min 36secs. Fastest Melton rider was Jamie Haines (21.54).

Other Melton times: Stuart Faver 22.18, Adam Brown 23.35, Adam Gardner 24.17, Gary Ison 25.14, Debbie Shaw 29.55.

The next round of the evening 10 TT league takes place on the Plungar course from 7.30pm.

The Sunday club run leaves Mill Street car park at 9am with a halfway point of Byards Leap.