Melton Olympic Cycling Club: Haines cleans up at awards evening

Have your say

Jamie Haines went home with an armful of prizes as Melton Olympic Cycling Club held their annual presentation evening last week.

The club held the event at Thorpe Arnold Cricket Club on Saturday where Paula Snodin, wife of outgoing club chairman Jeff, presented the prizes.

Haines picked up eight trophies after a prolific 2014 season in which he became Senior Hill Climb champion, Mountain Biker of the Year and Points series winner.

Senior road race and 10-mile champion Stuart Faver took home five prizes, as did young rider Kerrigan Robb who was juvenile road race and 25-mile champion and won awards for mountain biking and hill climbing.

Debbie Shaw made it a double of ladies’ prizes over 10 and 25 miles, while Adam Gardner included Roadman of the Year among his four-trophy haul.

Prize winners –

Debbie Shaw: Ladies’ 10-mile Champion (29min 12secs); Ladies’ 25-mile Champion (1hr 17min 27secs).

Stuart Faver: Senior 10-mile Champion (23.08); Midweek League Scratch 3rd (113pts); Midweek League Handicap 1st (95pts); Senior Road Race Champion; Grand Prix de Gents (1.09.35).

Steve King: Senior 25-mile Champion (58.27); Veteran 25-mile Champion (58.27); 49 age record (10-mile time trial – 21.08).

Jeff Snodin: Veteran 10-mile Champion (24.28); Cyclo-Cross Champion; Grand Prix de Gents (1.09.35).

Jamie Haines: Senior Hill Climb Champion (2min 48secs); Ashby Pastures Scratch Trophy (33.22); Pete Curtis Memorial Cup (311pts); 1st Points (166pts); Midweek League Scratch 2nd (117pts); Mountain Biker of the Year; Lunn Cup; Tow-Rope 2-up Time Trial (25.25).

Kerrigan Robb: Juvenile Hill Climb Champion (3min 42secss); Midweek League Junior (67pts); Alistair Buckenham Young Mountain Biker; Juvenile Road Race Champion; Juvenile 25-Mile Champion (1.24.40).

Adam Gardner: Midsummer Handicap (Saddlebag) Cup (56.40 – 1.04.40); Ashby Pastures Handicap Trophy (25.57 – 36.00 scratch); Midweek League Handicap 2nd (91pts); Roadman of the Year.

Steve Knox: Belvoir Handicap Cup (57.44 – 1.15.40); Fred Preston Trophy (2.28.01); 3rd Points (125pts).

Andrew Neale: Tow-Rope 2-up Time Trial (25.25).

Adam Brown: 2nd Points (133pts).

Paul Kerr: Midweek League Scratch 1st (117pts).

Alex Knott: Midweek League Handicap 3rd (89pts); Runner-up Cup.

Malcolm Mann: Midweek League Veteran (on Standard) (+10.08).

Matt Sharp: Audax Trophy.

Jim Sutherland: Attendance Cup Points.

Bill Stanley: Meritorious Award.

Joe Thorn: Junior Road Race Champion; Juvenile 10-Mile Champion (28.14).

Jamie Nice: Meteor of the Year.