Melton Mowbray Town Bowls Club say goodbye to long-serving ‘greenkeeper’

editorial image
Have your say

Melton Mowbray Town Bowls Club marked the end of the outdoor bowling season with the annual presentation night in the clubhouse.

The evening included saying a fond farewell to competitions secretary Harold Twigg who kept the club’s greens and machinery in top condition for about 20 years.

Harold is a former club president and a life member, and this year presented the club with a new trophy for the Roving Jack competition which he has won for the past three years.

He is moving to pastures new with his wife Sue this month.

A club spokesman said: “We wish him and Sue our very best wishes, they will be greatly missed.”

The night raised £137 towards club funds thanks to a raffle, organised by Barbara Woodcock and prizes donated by club members, while Janet Evans provided a quiz.

With club chairman David Ward delayed at the Leicestershire County Men’s annual meeting, secretary and treasurer Bob Johnson presented the trophies, with several new members either winning or sharing prizes.

The club would also like to encourage and welcome new members.

Prizewinners –

Men’s Club Championship: David Ward; runner-up: Harold Twigg. Two-Wood Singles: John Evans; r-up: Fred Thorpe.

Ladies’ Club Championship: Ann Ward; r-up: Janet Evans. Two-Wood Singles: Janet Evans; r-up: Ann Ward.

Mixed Open Singles: Mike Mayfield; r-up: Fred Thorpe. Open Handicap Singles: Barbara Woodcock; r-up: Alan Dawson. Open Veteran Singles: David Ward; r-up: Janet Evans. Open Novice Singles: Kevin Gibson. Open Pairs: Ann Ward/John Evans; r-up Andrew North/Fred Thorpe. Open Roving Jack: Harold Twigg. Most Improved Player: Les Lovett. Club Person Of Year: Janet Evans And Fred Thorpe.

* The club’s annual meeting takes place on Wednesday, November 22 at the Indoor Bowls Club conference room at 7pm