Melton Golf Club reach county final and men’s team win promotion

Callum Relf, Leah Radford, Elaine Shelton and Sam Pollard have guided Melton through to a county final EMN-150818-114553002
Callum Relf, Leah Radford, Elaine Shelton and Sam Pollard have guided Melton through to a county final EMN-150818-114553002
Have your say

Exceptional play helped Melton Mowbray Golf Club into the final of the County Mixed Interclub Foursomes.

The team of Sam Pollard, Leah Radford, Callum Relf and Elaine Shelton travelled to Lingdale last Wednesday evening for a semi-final showdown against Lutterworth.

The match was played in good spirit and the supporters of both teams enjoyed some superb golf.

The Melton foursomes pairs fully deserved their 5-up win and will now play Lingdale in the final on Sunday, September 13, venue to be announced.

* The Melton men’s Scratch League team also toasted success as they secured promotion into Division Four.

The team sealed promotion with victory against Rutland Water in their final game last Thursday to finish with seven wins from 10 games and an excellent game difference of +23.

* Melton GC grabbed an excellent top 10 finish in the national finals of the inaugural England Golf Club Team Championship on Friday.

The team of club captain Brendan Boyce, lady captain Karen Middleton, club president Owen Cook and lady president Drina Terzza reached the final at Frilford Heath, in Oxfordshire, by finishing fifth in regional qualifying at Woodhall Spa.

They joined 24 other teams playing off 3/4 handicaps and gave a plucky display in nasty weather conditions on a challenging course.

Melton scored 73 points, one ahead of par, to finish ninth overall and ahead of all but one of the other Woodhall qualifiers.

Shipley Golf Club, from Yorkshire, were crowned champions after returning a remarkable 81 points.

* The club hosted the Belvoir Brewery Senior Summer Open on Thursday to celebrate the Old Dalby brewery’s 20th year of production.

A large field of 124 competitors took part in the betterball competition with each receiving a bottle of Melton Red Beer.

Richard Haines (Melton) and Greg Ewart (Stoke Rochford) returned 44 points to win by two from Melton pair Brian Street and John Waldron who finished second on countback from Terry Brown (Melton) and John Webb (Lingdale), both with 42.

G. Coulthard and J. Marshall (Rugby) were fourth on countback from Steve Tagg and Dave Moss (Melton), and sixth-placed Trevor Watts and Paul Robbins (Lakeside Lodge). all three pairs scoring 39.

T. Jones and J. Bush (Bulwell Forest) completed the top seven with 38 points.

The over 70s longest drive and nearest the pin prizes went to Greg Ewart and T. Jones (Ruddington Grange) respectively, and the under 70s prizes went to Neil Greasley (Ormonde Park) and Chris Saunders (Rushden).

* Junior member Jake Mogg won the Presidents Putter with a combined nett score of 137, beating runner-up John Burgess by one shot.

Jake’s first round score of nett 70 put him four shots off the first round lead, but a nett 67 in round two was enough to take top spot.

A five-under handicap round of nett 65 saw junior member Jack Griffin top the President’s Putter second round, two points clear of John Harvey who took second place on countback from vice-captain Jack Inguanta.

Fresh from the Mixed Foursomes success, Sam Pollard won the best gross prize with a 72.

Two’s sweep: Sam Pollard, Jake Mogg, Alan Sleath, Gerry Stephens, Richard South, Steve Wright, Neil Eaves, John Burgess, Phil Curtis, Mark Pedge, Callum Relf.