Market Rasen racer Phil Crowe sees Isle of Man TT hopes hampered

editorial image
Have your say

Phil Crowe’s second Isle of Man TT didn’t all go smoothly as the weather played a huge part in his results.

Rain and high winds allowed Crowe only six laps during practice week, forcing the Market Rasen racer to use his Superstock bike for all three of his races.

After a 24-hour delay for bad weather, Crowe completed six gruelling laps around the 37.3-mile Mountain road course for the RST Superbike race.

He finished in a respectable 41st position from a 72-strong field, clocking 1hr 39min 55.931secs, and averaging 113.268mph.

The four-lap RL360 Superstock race was also delayed until Tuesday, and Crowe again finished 41st with a fastest lap of 119.65mph.

The high-profile Poker Stars Senior TT was set to run over six laps of the TT course, but after just two, the race was red flagged and restarted over the shorter distance of four laps.

Crowe had a good run to finish 46th, clocking his fastest lap of the week with 122.2mph on his final lap.

He said: “I’m very happy with what we have achieved with the lack of track time and all the problems we encountered.

“The TT is the ultimate test of man, machine and team, and we were definitely tested and did a good job.

“The results didn’t quite come together, but I’ve learnt plenty and know 125mph laps are just around the corner; it’s a pity that corner is a year away.

“I have to thank all those who made it all possible – Handtrans Haulage, Sheff Pack, Lorraine Royles, Fleetwood Grab Service. Silkolene Oils. B and C Express Rental, Tracktanium, Holbeach Motorcycle Tyres, Dunlop Tyres, Welton Quarries, Andrew Batt, Danny Tomlinson, Truelove Racing, Marshall BMW and BMW UK.

“Also a massive thanks to my pit crew for putting up with me for 18 days, Ben Baker for grafting and mucking in to help, Jason Dixon for the super fast wheel change and graft on the bikes, and Deck Lilley for the loan of an engine.”

Crowe is in action at Oulton Park on Saturday for the next round of the Thundersport UK Championship.