Melton Foxes U17s put nine past Andrews

Football SUS-150809-143114001
Football SUS-150809-143114001
Have your say

Melton Foxes U17s remain on the tails of Division One leaders Whetstone as they served up a powerful display to put nine goals past mid-table Andrews FC.

Andrews arrived on the back of a 10-1 demolition of Barrow and looked an accomplished team early on, but Foxes had the first clear chances, Shaun Smith heading over from close range and then miscuing his shot.

Smith made amends in the 14th minute when he ran onto Alex Horobin’s precision pass to fire home from six yards.

Three minutes later it was 2-0 when Cameron Ainge burst through before hitting a shot-come-cross that was deflected into the top of the net by a defender.

Smith and Ainge both squandered chances before the Foxes made it 3-0 with an outstanding goal. Thorpe and Walker worked the ball out wide to Kenny Jones who beat his man cleverly before crossing for Horobin. He rose superbly to send a magnificent header into the top corner.

More chances went begging before the hosts notched a fourth, seconds befoe half-time. Horobin ended a surging run with a pass to Jones who found Smith to tuck away his second from close range.

More Foxes pressure after the break brought a fifth goal when a long through ball found Smith who completed his hat-trick from six yards.

Alex Kortaba came on and soon made his presence felt, winning a tackle inside the area before cutting in to fire a low shot under the keeper for 6-0.

Two minutes later a delightful passing move saw the ball rolled into the path of Alex Walker who scored with a terrific low drive from 25 yards.

The visitors showed spirit and Lovegrove was happy to see a 25-yard effort rebound off the bar.

A corner from Kenny Jones was only half-cleared and Lewis Thorpe scored through a ruck of players, and Melton capped a resounding win when Adam Lauchlan swept another Jones corner into the net.

Foxes: C. McNeight, C. Lovegrove, J. Nickolls, L. Thorpe, J. Wilkinson, A. Lauchlan, A. Horobin, A. Walker, K. Jones, S. Smith, C. Ainge, A. Kortaba, H. Mayes.