Melton Foxes felled as Hinckley crowned champions

Have your say

Despite keeping their opponents at bay for long spells, Melton Foxes succumbed to a 5-0 defeat as Hinckley were crowned champions.

A late withdrawal meant Chris Lovegrove had to take over in goal, while injury forced Cameron Steans out, leaving Melton with just 11 players.

Hinckley started well but Foxes had the best early chance when Shaun Smith’s superb pass put Harrison Mayes clear on the left, who forced the keeper into a terrific save. Winger Kenny Jones then curled a free kick just wide with the keeper beaten.

Hinckley hit back with two corners and went ahead in the 26th minute, when Lovegrove could only push an 18-yard effort into his own net.

Foxes kept the hosts out until two minutes before the break when Lewis Thorpe was dispossessed on the edge of the area and Lovegrove was well beaten by the shot.

Hinckley hit the Foxes straight after the break when Lovegrove appeared to have a cross-shot covered, but the ball squeezed into the net.

Seconds later Hinckley broke down the left and their tricky midfielder cut along the byline before firing a drive past Lovegrove.

Alex Walker tried his luck from 20 yards before Lovegrove made a splendid block to prevent another goal.

A quick break saw Smith’s effort rebound back to Connor Beeken who looked a certain scorer, but the keeper got back to save his shot.

Hinckley raced to the other end and notched a fifth when Lovegrove failed to gather and their striker whipped the loose ball in from three yards.

Overall Melton were guilty of giving possession away too easily, despite some superb tackles from Ben Wilkinson.

Foxes: C. Lovegrove, B. Wilkinson, J. Nickolls, J. Bates, A. Walker, L. Thorpe, K. Jones, S. Smith, C. Beeken, H. Mayes, G. Wilkinson.