Grantham and Melton Cricket Association: Sproxton land title, Queniborough made to wait

Sproxton were crowned Division Two champions of the Grantham and Melton Cricket Association without having to bowl a ball in anger.

Wednesday, 19th September 2018, 2:40 pm
Updated Wednesday, 19th September 2018, 10:51 pm
Frisby, Hoby and Rotherby finished just 15 points short of promotion in Division Two. From left, back - Ryan Sharp, Adam Brierley-Lewis, Craig Caunt, Andy Lacey, Matt Lacey, Michael Corker; front - David Iliffe, Chris Holland, Adam Holland, Liam Langley, Alex Corker. EMN-180919-083714002

Their final match at Market Overton was conceded, giving them 20 points which leapfrogged them above long-time leaders Illston Abbey who had to settle for the second promotion spot, just ahead of Queniborough Seconds and Frisby, Hoby and Rotherby.

Just one game remains in the division with mid-table Croxton Kerrial hosting Market Overton this weekend, looking for a repeat of Sunday’s five-wicket win in the reverse fixture.

The Division One programme ended on Sunday, and Ashby Carington sealed a third place finish with victory at Belvoir.

Melton Mowbray's Sunday XI finished mid-table in Division Two. Fromn left, back - Max Braime, Simon Claricoates, Charlie Meredith-Wood, Johnny Cropper, Harvey Stokes, Archie Cropper; front - Liam Tew, Ben Redwood, Jamie Tew, Morgan Kilburn, Karl Tew. EMN-180919-083725002

Louis Massarella hit an unbeaten 121 and Jay Dyer made 55 as Ashby posted 273-4 from their 40 overs.

Dan Wilson (64) and Gareth King (70) gave the hosts a sniff of chasing down the imposing target, but they fell 30 runs short at 243-7.

British Shoe Corporation’s 15-run win at Sileby on Sunday, means Queniborough must wait until this weekend to clinch the Premier Division title.

Queniborough, who are bidding for a fourth straight title, need just three points when they travel to Corporation, their nearest rivals, this Sunday in the final match of the season.