Comfortable local derby win for Melton over Holwell BC

Have your say

Melton Mowbray Town BC won all four rinks as they beat local rivals Holwell 82-54.

The biggest win was by a 24-13 margin by Bob Johnson, John Evans and Harold Twigg over Mike Parker, Norma Jackson and Peter Farrow.

Other scores (Melton names first): Mike Pratt, Kevin Hutchins, Jenny McConnell and skip Len Keightley defeated Cliff Thompson, J Richardson, F Fiedling and A Tipper 21-13; David Ward, Sid Greenstreet, Alan Dawson and David Poate beat J Kurth, D Hopkinson, Beryl Kurth and D Pearson 21-15; Mike Mayfield, Janet Evans, Kevin Murray and Les Woodcock beat R Batsford, Terry Moss, Jean Ladkin and G Marshall 16-13.

There was another good win for Melton Mowbray Town BC, this time by 80-63 against Aylestone Hall BC on Saturday. Scores: Andrew North, Eric Morgan, John Evans and Harold Twigg beat Fred Roberts (skip) 22-10; Mick Parker, Paul McConnell, David Poate and Bob Johnson drew with Bill Newbold 19-19; Alan Dawson, Linda Endall, Jenny McConnell and Kevan Murray beat I Dodds 19-16; Sid Greenstreet, Kevin Hutchins, Vince Darling and Les Woodcock beat M Freer 20-18.

Melton Mowbray Town Ladies beat Birstall Ladies by 50-47. Scores (Melton names first): Beryl Brett, V Allan and Janet Evans beat M Gilbert 21-9; Mary Keightley, Ann Ward, C Chapman and Madge Baker lost to D Harrop 28-12; Barbara Woodcock, P McMahon and Jenny McConnell beat A Parkin 17-10.