Melton Borough Council elections: Eight of 10 rural wards are uncontested

Election 2015 ballot box
Election 2015 ballot box
Have your say

Eight of the 10 Melton Borough Council rural wards will be uncontested, with nominated candidates assuming these seats by default and not having to face the public vote.

These wards will not face elections because they have the same number of nominated candidates as seats or too few people have put themselves forward for nomination.

The uncontested wards are Bottesford (two seats), Croxton Kerrial (one seat), Frisby-on-the-Wreake (one seat), Gaddesby (one seat), Long Clawson and Stathern (two seats), Old Dalby (one seat), Somerby (one seat) and Wymondham. In all of these cases the only candidates standing are Conservatives.

The two rural wards which are being contested are Asfordby (two seats) and Waltham-on-the-Wolds (one seat).

in the 2011 borough council elections all 10 of these rural wards were contested.