Melton Vale Post-16 Centre honours A-Level class of 2014 at annual presentation night

Special guest Libby Clegg with some of the prize winners at the MV16 presentation evening EMN-141219-164224001
Special guest Libby Clegg with some of the prize winners at the MV16 presentation evening EMN-141219-164224001
Have your say

Some of the top performing students at Melton Vale Post-16 Centre (MV16) were invited back to receive prizes for their academic and extra curricular achievement.

About 300 people attended the sixth form presentation night, including 100 ex-pupils.

Special guest for the evening was Great Britain paralympic sprinter Libby Clegg, who gave an inspirational talk.

Head of Centre Kirstie Black said: “The students we invited were those who had their A-level results in August and who have just completed their first term at university.

“They were part of the best performing year group in the last three years.

“It was really nice to see them all again and to catch up on how they are getting on with their university studies.”

This year was exceptional for A-level results at MV16.

The figures put the school among the top 10 per cent sixth form providers in the country. An impressive 56.2 per cent of students gained at least one A* to B grade, which was highest in the county and well above the 49.4 per cent national average.

Award winners were:

Shona Bloodworth and Jake Rennie (Harry Anderson Science Memorial Prize); Ellen McNeelance (Edwardians Prize for Service to the School); Maria Newton (The Melton Lion Services to School/Community Award); Jordan Green (Marjorie Pacey Arts Award); Janice Tang and Megan Story (Melton Belvoir Rotary Vocational Prize); Bronwyn Anderson and Jenny Downing (Melton Rotary Community Service Award); Aaron Chapman (Robert Harris Prize for English); James Coles (Melton Chamber of Trade Business Prize); Oliver Circuit (Oldham and Marsh Prize for Law); Alex Badgery (Leicester Mercury Prize for Languages); Isobel Graham (Frances Bloodworth Award for Endeavour in Geography); Jared Durrance (Melton Times Prize for History); Tom Gilbert (Melton Building Society Prize for Design); Olivia Bailey (Rosie May Dance and Performing Arts Award); Alice Cowling and Chloe Bridger (Jon Sherwin Award for Visual Arts); Jasmin Southam (Ragdale Hall Prize for Sport); James Parker (The Osborne Prize for Mathematics); Madeleine Dale (MV16 Award for Chemistry); Holly Forwood (MV Sociology Award); Freya Lawe (MV16 Psychology Award); Megan Bowen (Pam Posnett Award for Government and Politics); Anna Shaw (Sir Richard Raynes Foundation Scholarship).